06.02.02 � 7:55 am

Birthday Extravaganza

The birthday extravaganza is coming to a close. It's a good thing too. I don't think I'd have survived another day.

I think this has been the best birthday I've had in years. Friday morning I spent 3 1/2 hours with Peter getting my hair dyed RED. I had his earliest appointment which meant that there wasn't anyone in the salon but us and we ate breakfast and chilled while the color was in my hair. After my hair I ran about a bazillion errands and then Sarah came and got me and we headed for Austin.

Apparently this weekend was the Harley fest thingy in Austin. We always seem to end up there when this is going on. Fucking bikers EVERYWHERE. Don't get me wrong, I've got absolutely nothing against bikers. It's just that it makes the traffic in town even worse than it already is. Anyway, we got into town about 4 and got a room and then headed to S Congress to do some thrift store shopping. I'm amazed by the number of hip people in Austin. EVERYONE is arty and hipster like. Sarah says that Austin is more pretentious than Dallas, but I don't think so. The hipster quality of Austin doesn't intimidate me. But I'm digressing. After shopping we went back to the room and changed clothes and Sarah started watching the hockey game. Scott 1 (now nicknamed Bongo Scott) came over with beer and shortly after that Scott 2 (now named Good Scott) showed up. We had a couple beers and then met Jenna and Jenny at Hyde Park Grill. Had a great dinner. Laughed and laughed. Good Scott bought my dinner and then slyly asked me what kind of dessert I liked. After we ate, the waitress brought out my dessert with a candle in it. I made a wish (what do you think it was for?) and we all devoured it. It was this chocolate truffle souffle thingy. It reminded me of when I make brownies (which is oh so often) and then start eating them before they're cool. They're hot and mushy and they crumble apart when you cut them. Delicious.

After dinner we went to Club Deville. I think I was drunk by the time we got to Club Deville. We were all knocking off and taking ridiculous pictures. Bongo Scott was starting to get on everyone's nerves. (I'm a HUGE emo fan!) When we left the hotel earlier in the night we were about a mile down the road and he mentions he left his insulin back in the room. We offer to turn around and go get it. Repeatedly. He says it's not necessary. Just means he can't drink a lot. So what does he do? He drinks everyone under the fucking table. I was oblivious to all this since I was drunk also and in my own little world. Everyone was concerned that he assumed he was staying with us at the hotel. Not that I would have cared really. I wouldn't have wanted to deal with him in the morning though. You know some people you can only take in small doses. He'd pretty much freaked Sarah out and she was adamant that he wasn't staying with us. So I was presented with a dilemma. I had to tell him to hit the road. But I'm getting ahead of myself. Before that we went to Emo's and saw this hilarious band "something something finger something". The lead singer chick wore a baton twirler's costume and was crazy as hell. Bongo Scott disappeared which was annoying. I mean, why would you just leave someplace. Have you ever had a friend that would get so annoying and childish when they drank that you'd have to babysit them or they'd wander off and do something stupid. Bongo is that guy. He had everyone worried (but me. I was oblivious)because of the fact that he didn't have his insulin and was obviously wasted.

Anyway, when we left Emo's I told him he couldn't stay with us. He came up to the room and got his stuff and left. This whole time frame is kind of a blur to me. Sarah says he called my cell around 2:45 and I talked to him and told him I was sleeping. I have absolutely NO memory of that. She said he was holding my hand in the backseat of the car. (what?!)

I woke up around 6:30, still drunk, to the sound of fucking motorcycles. I guzzled some water (thanks Sarah!) and went back to sleep. If it wasn't for the water, there's no way I would have been mobile yesterday. No way in hell.

We dressed and went to Kerbey Lane and had some yummy banana nut pancakes and then went to Waterloo. (my own personal heaven)Came home. Went to Jenny's art show. I went and visited Heather. Then went to Damon and Cindy's and they took me to eat at Joe's Crab Shack. They made me parade around the restaurant with a metal pail on my head while they sang me Happy Birthday. Yeah. I was mad.

We went back to their house and watched Meet the Parents. I had to watch it long enough to see the prayer scene. "you are such a good God. such an accomodating God." "Oh sweet lord of hosts" (I'm paraphrasing here)

When I came home, I didn't even make it all the way through SNL. I was out.

Today is Jen and Jason's scooter ride and we're going to meet them afterwards at The Lab at 2. Dinner tonite with my mom and brother.

We leave for Hawaii a week from Monday.

My hair is RED.

And on a side note, The new Lauryn Hill Unplugged is the most beautiful cd I have heard in a long time. It moved me to tears. Go buy it.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host