09.10.02 � 10:06 pm

long ass bitching

Okay, so my grandmother is a calculating, manipulating, vindictive control freak. I say this with a tremendous amount of love. Let me preface this diary entry by saying that I do love my grandparents very much. I grew up very close to them.

That being said..I'm so mad at them, at this point I don't want to see them for a long long time. Here's the story. My grandparents have a great deal of money. Therefore they use their money to control everyone. For the past three years they've taken the whole family on these vacations. Great. We appreciate it. But for the past 6 months my grandmother has been saying that she wants to take the family on a cruise to Alaska. Now, having spent 10 days in Hawaii with them this summer, everyone has vowed never to travel with them again. Either way, I'm in a year-round school program. I've explained this to them a million times. They mentioned this trip to me awhile back and I reminded them that I am in school now and don't get breaks. Initially my grandmother accused me of exaggerating. Then she said "Well, you'll just have to take a semester off next summer. But we'll talk about it later". Right. I blew it off. They're not paying for my school, so they have no right to dictate to me when I should or shouldn't take time off. I don't WANT to take a semester off. First, I have no idea how that affects my financial aid and second, I don't want to extend my schooling any further than it is. I think it genuinely pisses my grandmother off that she's not paying for my school and therefore can't use it to control me. (which has come up before. she admitted to this)

Sooooo...fast forward to last weekend. My grandmother calls my stepmom and starts with the dramatics. "I don't feel I have much time left. This may be my last vacation. Blah Blah". How fucking manipulative can you be?!

Yesterday she calls me and says the same shit. She asks me again about my breaks in between semesters. I remind her for the 50th time that I don't get breaks. I tell her that I don't want to take a semester off. She asks me to think about it. I agree to consider it.

Know what she does next? She goes to the travel agent and BOOKS and PAYS for the trip. What?!

yep. She booked the whole damn thing. Not just for me but for my dad and his wife also. Then she calls me last night and tells me. Like I'm going to be excited. Thing is, they picked a date that my dad and stepmom will already be out of town. They're pissed off that they have to change it. Well, who'se fault is that?! THEN I find out that my grandmother called the school to verify my dates for next year. How fucking sneaky can you be?!

Today my grandfather called me and informed me about the plans having to be changed because my dad's schedule is so "rigid" and he has "important things". Hello?! I'm in COLLEGE. Is that not important?!

I think that's the root of my anger. They trivialize everything I do and school is unimportant because they're not paying for it. I bust my ass in school. Two days a week I have 15 hour days. I raise a child. Work full-time. AND go to school full-time also. I don't want a medal. I just want some recognition that what I'm doing has some importance.

So, anyway..With all this going on, I started my day in a pissy mood. I was sad and bummed and REALLY wishing I could see Todd. I called him from work, but didn't mention my wanting to see him. He knew I was stressed and he called me 10 minutes after we got off the phone and asked if I'd like him to come have lunch with me. He's so perfect. He gave me just what I wanted and I didn't even have to ask. It amazes me how well we fit together.

We had a great lunch and I actually felt like a huge weight had been lifted off my shoulders. Todd is good medicine for me.

I'm tired now.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host