01.31.03 � 7:05 am

glasses smorgasbord

I have a story to tell. (and yes Jeff, you've heard it before, you might as well just scroll down)

A few weeks ago a man came into the credit union and I helped him with a loan. He was wearing the most amazing glasses. They were plastic frames, but only half frames. The plastic was red with these cool stripes on them. Really funky and WAY cool. I have a bit of an obsession with glasses. I've been known to drive to Austin just to search for a cooler pair than I can find here. (don't you know EVERYTHING'S cooler in Austin?)

So I ask him about his glasses and he tells me they are handmade by this French designer Alain Mikli. He tells me that he collects them and he got this pair when he was in France. He says he paid $600 for them. He says that no one in San Antonio has them but sometimes they can be found on Ebay. He even gives me his business card and writes the web address of this French designer and also gives me the street address of his store in Paris "in case I'm ever there".

Alain Mikli

So...fast forward to yesterday. A coworker and I were eating at Quizno's and decided to walk down to the end of the shopping center and get some coffee. As we're walking, we pass an optical place. I look over and see a display with some pretty cool looking frames and a little card above them that says "Alain Mikli"

Holy fuck. So we go inside and it's breathtaking. BEAUTIFUL glasses everywhere. The coolest, funkiest, most unique frames you could imagine. Prada, Face a Face, Maryam Zaim, and alas..Mikli also.

SO what did I do? I tried on every pair. And then I bought a pair. And guess what? They were nowhere near $600. I spent $300 WITH the lenses. I feel like this store is my little secret.

I'm so DAMN excited. The frames I picked out are black (big shocker) and they're chunkier plastic than the ones I wear now. Kinda square shaped and the inside plastic is a black and white pattern, that you can see slightly when you look at them from the front.

AND...they're handmade. So no two pair are exactly alike.

And and and....I'm just so happy.

Oh yeah, AND it's Friday. I'm sleeping late ALL weekend.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host