02.09.03 � 10:37 am

Cowboys, Death, Birds, and Bad Drinks

I haven't had the energy or time to write much lately. I always think of a million things to say when I'm in my car or at work or otherwise unable to actually write.

It's been a strange week here. A good friend's father died on Tuesday after a long battle with cancer. Although he was ill and receiving chemo and radiation, his sudden death on Tuesday was a shock. Daphne is a coworker and close friend as we've worked together for nearly 6 years. It's been painful to see her in such tremendous pain. It's especially difficult when there's really nothing you can do or say that's of any consolation. So yeah, it's been weird.

Wednesday night Todd and I went to the rodeo and saw Lynyrd Skynyrd with my dad and Lela. I've never been a country fan. I've always been repulsed by the sight of a man in tight Wranglers (low sperm count jeans, I like to call em). I get irritated by big ass hillbilly trucks and I've never enjoyed country music. But I discovered something Wednesday night. Which is good, cause I'm always up for some self-discovery. What I realized is that.....

Bull riders are motherfucking HOT.

Hot. H-O-T.

Whoa. I realized that depsite the tight jeans and the complete lack of any musical taste, I could SO get it on with a rugged and dirty, super manly, hot-as-shit bull rider. I'm telling you, I was flustered. I think it embarrassed Todd.

Oh and about Lynyrd Skynyrd. I don't think they got the memo that it's not 1980 anymore. There was not ONE person in the band that was mullet-free. It was a mullet fest. Todd and I had the binoculars and we were mullet critiquing, giving them all names and such. Poor guys.

I haven't done crap this weekend. Todd took his LSAT yesterday morning, which meant that he had to spend the rest of the day sleeping. I've never in my life known anyone who could sleep as much as he can. Last night I took Brianna to her friend Gaby's house to spend the night. Cindy was there and somehow I ended up at the liquor store with Danielle (Gaby's mom) and Cindy. And then somehow I also ended up buying two bottles of vodka. And somewhere along the way, I convinced myself and everyone else thatI could make Cosmopolitans. Yikes. They turned out some kind of strange orange color. I think I might have used too much lime juice. Regardless, they were nasty and so we moved on to Citron and 7. I suppose my future life as a bartender is shattered now.

Anyway, I doubt I'll get to write before Wednesday. And Thursday morning Todd and I are leaving town for the weekend, so.....if I don't get back here, Happy Valentine's Day everyone.

P.S. I'm convinced there's a family of birds living in the vent that is in my bathroom. I hear chirping in there occasionally and every once in a while there's a ruckus in there. I bring this up because I just heard a commotion coming from the vent. I've been compelled to unscrew the vent screen thingy and peer in there to see what I can see, but I'm scared the mutant birds would come flying out and peck me in the face and I would instantaneously be transformed into Tippi Hedren ala The Birds. And that wouldn't be so super.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host