08.30.03 � 7:38 am

-

So with all this wedding planning, I didn't have a ring. A lot of my friends have been giving me shit, calling me Monica Geller, saying it isn't official until you have a ring. Which, in my opinion, is bullshit because I've known people who've had engagement rings for years with no talk of actually planning the wedding. I think it's the two people who make the commitment official, not the ring.

Now let me tell you about last night. Yesterday was Todd's birthday and we had plans to eat at La Focaccia. La Focaccia is the restaurant we ate at one our first date and we also went for his birthday last year. It's sort of our "special occasion" place. Sooo..Todd comes over and he has a dozen white roses for me. On HIS birthday. Then we have dinner and he tells me he wants to find O'Henry's house. Apparently, O'Henry lived in SA and his house still stands somewhere downtown with an historical marker on it. At this point, I'm down with that plan, so after dinner we commence driving around looking for the O'Henry house. And driving. And driving. Todd stopped twice to try and get directions. While I'm waiting in the car I'm thinking "why the hell do we have to do this TONITE?", but I'm patient and the second place he goes to gives him the directions.

So, we find the house and we're standing on the porch, and all of a sudden Todd turns around and he has a ring in his hand!!!!

This is what he said..

Before he turned around he said, "there might be something else to consider about june 19th"

before i could say anything, he spun around with the ring in his hand and said "it might be too big".

I said "oh. my. god."

And then I cried and I hugged him and we started kissing and people were driving by and yelling at us. (Get a room!) Then he looked at me and said "well? what's your answer?" to which i answered...

"Yes. Stupid."

Okay, so I don't deal well with romantic moments.

He said he decided on the O'Henry house because he wanted us to have a "place" and a "story". And I was wondering why it was so damn important to go there last night.

After we left the O'Henry house, we went by the St. Anthony to check out our ballroom. It's going to be beautiful, ya'll. Really.

So, now it's officially official. And I have a beautiful ring that is modest and understated, but has deep sentimental value as it's been in his family awhile. It couldn't be more perfect.

Now I have a beyonce.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host