06.06.02 � 8:10 pm

I've been walking far too long

I think there must be something in the water today that's making people behave like assholes. FIRST thing this morning I had this dipshit man that wanted to take his dad's name off his mom's account and add his own. With a power of attorney. In the banking world, this is a huge no no. POA's aren't honored for changes to a signature card as they can be revoked at any time. I tried to offer this man solutions, could he take a sig card to his mom to sign? could she put a request in writing? I was TRYING to be helpful. I COULD have told this man to piss off right from the get go. Instead of APPRECIATING my helpfulness, he starts cussing me out. Do I want him to bring his mother in "in the goddamn ambulance"? Do I want him to scribble all over the signature card?

What dumb questions. So, I leave my desk and go in someone else's office, thinking we can call someone else for a possible solution. While I'm in there, the wife of one of my regular customers (and good friend) calls to tell me that her husband has passed away. Her husband was a man I befriended when I was working at the other branch. He was mean and grumpy and hated the credit union and said he'd never do business with us again. I got him talking and discovered he'd lived in the same small town in Alabama as my grandpa. He loved me after that. It got to the point where he'd come in just to see me and chat and would never do his banking with anyone else. (Everyone else was scared of him anyway) I kind of viewed him as a grandpa type and it broke my heart to hear this woman sobbing on the phone. What do you say when situations like this arise? I've never been very good at it. I always offer an awkward "I'm sorry", but I know there must be something more meaningful to say. SO...while I'm listening to mournful sobs on the phone, this dickweed with the POA comes and stands right in front of me with his arms folded across his chest and stares me down. How rude can you be?

I spent my lunch with Linda, who's trying to reconcile with the boyfriend that beat her up last weekend. She's suspects he's cheating on her (he probably is) and so she's been sad all day. We went to eat and started talking about men and relationships and being doormats and never knowing when to draw the line. It eventually led to us talking about our kids and how they know when things aren't right with us and how we take for granted how much they love us. We both ended up crying. What a bunch of morons we are. We were so worked up, we decided to go for a drive before we had to head back to the office. I tried to keep the subject off of anything serious and we were laughing by the time we got back.

This afternoon I spent 5 minutes alone in the atm room with JCM, the geeky computer guy I've had a crush on for two years. The absolute highlight of my day.

If only he knew....

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host