09.01.02 � 2:18 pm

todd's birthday

Sometime around 3 o'clock on Friday I realized that I was having quite possibly the greatest day I've had in years. I found out that I got A's in both of my classes last term. More importantly though, this also means I got my grades which I needed to get my tuition reimbursement from work. $684. Early Friday I take my grades upstairs to Laura in HR and we talk for about half an hour. She tells me that it normally takes a week to get the reimbursement, but she'll see that it gets done before the end of the day so I can have my money by the weekend. Woo. I wasn't at all planning on that.

Sometime around noon Chris calls me and tells me that he's gotten his paycheck and they've taken out my child support. $500. Wow. I haven't seen child support since April. This is excellent news. (although not for chris. but screw him.)

Then my dad calls and says they're going to see the Missions Saturday with Lela's sister and her husband. Then Todd calls and says he would like to go too. Great! This is shaping up to be an excellent weekend.

So after work Todd comes over and we go to La Focaccia to eat. This is the restaurant we ate at on our first date, so it's a tad bit special. We had a great meal. He made me eat escargot and we had a bottle of wine. We talked about everything. Laughed about our first date when I was so nervous all I would eat was a salad.

After dinner we stopped and bought abother bottle of wine. Those of you that know me, know that I am not a wine drinker. Mostly because it fucks me up BIG TIME. I've no tolerance for wine. That being said, we came home and Todd opened his presents. I got him a Bob Dylan cd he'd been looking for. A book called "The Monk" that he'd also been looking for and I got him his ticket to the Austin City Limits festival we're going to on the 28th and 29th. Brianna made him a card too. We watched "Waiting for Guffman" and finished our second bottle of wine. By the end of the movie, I was wasted. I mean REALLY drunk. Feeling sick. Wishing I had not been hellbent on polishing off the wine. He tells me that if he's going to be up tomorrow to go with us to the Missions, he'd better get me in bed and go home.

I'm not usre how it happened, but somehow while we were laying in bed, we started this intense conversation about US. By the time we were done, we were both crying. Then laughing cause we were so drunk and pathetic. He said. (and I will never forget this. ever)

"I love you. You're the sweetest thing I've ever known. I think about you everyday. I have to keep myself from calling you all the time. And I can't believe how much you make me believe in people again. This has been the best birthday I've ever had."

Wow. Drunk revelations. THIS is why I don't drink wine.

But...something happened. I feel okay now. Not scared. This relationship is going somewhere. And I feel alive again. It's the most amazing feeling. I feel like all the CRAP, the pain, the bullshit I went through with Chris is behind me.

AND.....

Mr. Big is coming back to Sex and the City tonite.

See? A fucking amazing weekend.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host