03.27.03 � 8:03 pm

blenders and dreams and insane old people

I really need to work on having some patience with my grandparents. I'm not sure, but I think old age has made them just a tad bit crazy. Actually, it's really just my grandmother who has gone completely insane. My grandpa is just this sweet, frail, forgetful old man. She's turned into a mean and bitter old bag. I've been talking a lot lately with my aunt about my grandmother's behavior and how we all just need to understand that she's old and crazy and not the woman she used to be. We decided that we need to make an effort to be more patient with her. The time will come all too soon when she will be gone.

So...tonite is my weekly Thursday night dinner with the grandparents. We usually go to Ryan's Steakhouse, which makes me want to barf. However, I've decided it's better to go there rather than someplace that real civilized people go, because my grandmother is such a bitch, it's humiliating. Tonite they wanted to go to Outback. Fine.

Everything with her is a test. She tests Brianna. "Do you ever read the book I bought you 4 years ago?" That kind of crap.

Everytime we see them, she gives us bags of old shit out of their house. Usually it's expired food, but about 6 months ago they got a free packet of some mix type thing to make a banana smoothie with. So they brought that to me, along with a banana and a blender. Tonite she asks me for the third time if I've ever made the smoothie with the blender she brought me. "Yes", I say. Then she asks, "Well, have you made anything else with the blender?" To which I say, "No".

She says "Jesus Christ" and shakes her head. I ponder this for a few seconds and decide it's better if I don't react to her. THEN she says "Just give me the damn blender back and I'll give it to someone who will use it!!"

Well, fuck that. I said, "You know what?! I didn't ASK you to give me a blender. But since you're going to be ugly about it, you can have the damn thing back!"

Then I told Brianna to hurry and eat her ice cream "cause we're outta here".

It's funny how riled up she got me, when I'd just had a conversation today with my aunt about being more patient and understanding with her. The saddest part of it all is that when they are gone, THESE are the memories Brianna will have of them. I tried to tell her tonite how great they used to be. About how my brother and I used to love spending time with them. How they always had the coolest stuff to do. She says she understands that they are just old and don't mean to be as shitty as they are, but I don't think she really does.

On a side note, I've been having insanely crazy dreams lately. Two nights ago I had another dream I was pregnant. (I wonder what that means?) I dreamt that I was in a public bathroom stall with a pregnancy test. I was having trouble opening the package. Instead of the typical "see two blue lines and it means you're pregnant", it was "see at least three lines". And the lines were all perpendicular. There was also a little sticker on the side that said "uncover me for a bonus line". Weird.

Then last night I dreamed that Chris was making me pancakes with peanut butter syrup. I was pissed off that the syrup wasn't regular maple syrup, so I went storming to the pantry in search of the right kind. He pinned me up against the pantry door and started kissing me. It wasn't a full-on sex dream, but still disturbing. I hate him. I don't want to dream about him.

Oh...also. My Accounting teacher emailed me and said "Congratulations on getting the second highest grade in class. Your grade was an 84, which I've rounded up to an A"

Yay!

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host