07.04.03 � 12:37 am

alaska update

Yeah so I'm in Alaska. So far I'm totally unimpressed. I mean, it's beautiful, I guess. But there's garbage everywhere. Seriously, there's a real litter problem here. And also, it's like 24 hours of daylight. Right now it's 9:45pm and outside it looks like 4:30. My body is so confused. The hotel we stayed at last night had curtains that wouldn't close all the way and the sun would spill in the gap. It was like taking a midafternoon nap ALL FREAKIN NIGHT. Luckily, I don't have a problem taking naps.

We leave in the morning for a 2 1/2 hour drive to the dock to get on the cruise. We're hoping that the cruise will make for a much better, more relaxing vacation as the last few days have been mediocre at best. My grandmother has been unbearable and we've all been suffering through her snarky bitchiness. It doesn't help that we've been pretty much flying nonstop for two days. We got in to Anchorage Tuesday evening and then Wednesday morning left for Kotzebue. Kotzebue was a big ass disappointment. Picture a large trailer park, full of freakin garbage, dirt roads, on the Arctic Ocean with temperatures averaging oh, I don't know,somewhere around -50. Real pleasant. But...it was a requirement for our trip since it is 40 miles or so above the Arctic Circle and well, that's just cool. Or so they tell me.

Wednesday evening we left for Nome. We stayed at the "Nome Nugget Inn". It was quite possibly the WORST hotel I've EVER stayed at. I was actually scared to walk barefoot or sleep under the covers. Despite the roach motel, Nome was pretty cool. We panned for gold. I got a couple little little gold pieces and so did Brianna. Bri also got a hunk of garnet. It's my favoritest stone, but she says I can't have it. We also went to a dog musher's camp and played with the dogs and learned a LOT about Iditarod. This is something I am really interested in and would love to have an opportunity to try it out. They have places you can go where you can go out and sled with an expert, but I doubt we'll have time.

I talked to Todd tonite. I miss him very very much and I wish he was here with us.

Anyway, just cross ya'lls fingers that we make it back alive. I'm ready to shove my grandma's wheelchair into heavy traffic.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host