07.14.03 � 10:00 pm

first entry

Okay, I'm back. Who even knew I was gone??

I only managed to do two entries from the cruise.

Here's the first one:

Saturday July 5th. 2pm. Somewhere in the Gulf of Alaska.

I�m sitting on my private veranda. Brianna is somewhere on the Promenade Deck making beaded bracelets with the other kids. I�m telling you, I could totally get used to this. We slept with our veranda door open and fell asleep listening to the sound of the ocean. When we first embarked yesterday, I�ll admit the �motion of the ocean� made me feel a little bit vertigo-esque. In bed, however, it�s oddly relaxing. It�s really a gentle rocking motion and it�s quite peaceful.

We had a long day yesterday. MORE time at the airport waiting for the bus that was to take us to the port. Seems like the majority of this vacation has consisted of waiting around at airport terminals. When we finally got on our bus, it was a 3 hour drive to the ship. Granted, it was a scenic drive..but damn��we�re all just so sick of �traveling�. By the time we got to the dock I had a headache that was killing me. Brianna was cranky. My grandmother was cranky (but then, when isn�t she?). We all needed a bit of RELAXING. Brianna and I have a suite with a veranda. It�s really very nice. We had a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us, which Brianna devoured in like a nanosecond.

So now it�s been a day. We�re at sea today and tomorrow and I have no cell phone service. I feel so disconnected. We�re having a good time, no thanks to my grandmother who is worse than she�s ever been. She�s been bitching and ragging NON FUCKING STOP. Even Lela is getting annoyed and she usually has the patience of a saint. We are trying to do our own thing and go our separate ways so we can avoid any more stress than is necessary. My grandparents hate that. I think they feel we should be with them 24/7. We announced that we�d be eating breakfast in our cabin and would �run into them later�, but I could hear my grandfather on his veranda next door calling us �Yoohoo. Are you out there?! Kristina?!� he was even knocking on the partition that separates our verandas. This was at 6:30 am!!! I just can�t stress enough just how SHITTY it is traveling with them. But, I knew it would be this way. Which is why I didn�t want to go on this vacation to begin with.

I suppose we just make do and try to brush off her shittiness. It really is nice to be at sea and to have such a nice cabin. Oh and we�re eating like royalty.

And also�..I miss Todd.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host