01.28.04 � 11:06 am

-

I took my grandfather to his doctor appointment yesterday. This was just a follow-up with the surgeon who removed his tumor earlier this month. He had already been to see his internal medicine doctor, Dr. Nguyen who was concerned that he had lost 7 pounds in one week. Not to mention the shortness of breath and fatigue. Dr. Nguyen told him no driving and no climbing stairs.

ANYWAY, yesterday as we're en route to the surgeon's office, my grandpa tells me that he thinks he's going to ask Dr. Glass what HE thinks about the not driving and stair climbing. So, when we go into the office, he lays it on REALLY thick. Says he's doing wonderfully. Never felt better. My grandfather has become a desperate man. He desperately wants to NOT be the old man that he is. He longs to take care of my grandmother, which in a way in sweet and romantic. However, the reality is that they are BOTH very ill and weak etc. And them refusing to get help and admit that they mightnot be okay is just dangerous. One of them is going to end up seriously hurt.

I mediated a bit between him and the doctor. Tried to offer information so that Dr. Glass would see what the REAL situation is. But then I realized that my grandfather is going to do whatever the hell he wants, doctor approval or not. If he wants to climb stairs, he'll do it. Same with driving. SO I relented and then took him to McDonalds and got him a Big Mac. That should help with the weight loss!

Had lunch with my dad. He told me that he would be honored to give me away and be a part of the wedding and that he would talk to my stepmom about her attitude. He said, "I don't want you to stress about it. We'll work it out". Good. That's what I wanted to hear.

I had a meeting with the DJ last night and he stood me up. He called later and apologized. Said he has the flu and has been on "cold medicine" and was sleeping. I've given him one more chance for Thursday night and I really hope it works out because I don't want to have to go back to square one.

Also, I'm hungry.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host