03.25.04 � 12:43 pm

-

So. San Angelo.

Yes, it was sad circumstances under which we had to go to San Angelo. But the truth is, we had a very very good time.

Todd's mom flew from Florida to SA last Wednesday and then rented a car and drove the three hours to Todd's grandma's ("Nanki" as we know and love her). Wednesday night, Todd's sister Michelle flew in from Florida and Thursday morning Todd, Brianna, Michelle, and I left and headed to Nanki's. The drive was nice and we spent a lot of time talking and catching up. Todd's cousins Thad (who's in our wedding) and Victoria were coming from California and New York and Todd's aunt Patti and aunt Jackie. It was to be a true family gathering.

Before I can continue on...I have to tell you a bit about Nanki. If I wasn't marrying her grandson, I would so want her to be MY grandmother. She is one of the most amazing, engaging women I've ever known. She's like a little elegant, graceful, Southern, ball of energy. She has a sense of humor that will knock you off your feet. She has a way with with words and a vocabulary that I could only aspire to one day have. She tells stories that keep you totally engrossed, hanging on the edge of your seat. I can't say enough about her. Really.

The funeral was not depressing, because Nanki knew that wasn't what Grandaddy would have wanted. It was more a celebration of what a wonderful man he was. The highlight and most moving part was when the gardener, in broken English, spoke of Granddaddy and said "Mr. Hall was such a nice man. He help my family a lot" and then he asked if we minded if he prayed in Spanish. I've no idea what he said when he prayed, however it was extremely moving and we talked about it most of the weekend.

We spent a lot of time with Thad and Victoria who were absolutely fantastic and SO much fun. Victoria does stand up comedy in NY, and believe me, it shows. I've never met someone so freakin funny.

We spent Friday at Thad and Victoria's Dad's ranch in Sonora drinking beers and riding four wheelers. Brianna got to pet a horse and even Nanki got a little drunk on Maker's Mark.

Saturday was spent shopping with my mother in law and sister in law.

It was the best time we've had in a very long time. I realized while I was there, how truly blessed I am to be joining such an amazing family. Everyone is so kind and SO funny and most importantly, they treated Brianna like she had always been a part of their family. Nanki referred to her as her second great granddaughter. When she said that, it literally brought tears to Todd's eyes.

So yeah, it was just a good weekend.

And also, we got a 3 story townhouse. We're moving on the 15th. It's bigger and nicer than where we're at. It has crown molding and high ceilings. And also a garage. In the immortal words of Kyra Sedgwick in 'Singles', "Now you'll always have a parking space".

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host