06.27.04 � 7:40 am

-

Part 1

Well......I'm married! The wedding week was a very quick whirlwind of running last minute errands and greeting out of town family and guests. Todd's sister, Michelle, and her husband and kids were the first to arrive on Wednesday and I spent a lot of time with them. His mom came on Thursday along with all of his aunts and cousins from California. Everyone was staying at the St. Anthony downtown, so it was party time down there with everyone congregating in one room or another. Five of Todd's friends from college came, so he was busy hanging out with them. Friday morning came quickly and I took my bridesmaids for spa pedicures at Patricia's Day Spa. We drank mimosas and ate coffee cake. That night was the rehearsal, which was chaotic as HELL. THe wedding coordinator for the church was yelling at my friends and being mean to the boys if they didn't hold their hands a certain way when they walked the girls down the aisle. Forever, among family and friends, our wedding will be remembered by the Nazi Wedding Coordinator.

Anyway, Todd's dad and stepmom hosted the rehearsal dinner in the fellowship hall of the church. Emily decorated SO beautifully with candles and tulle and lots of pink ribbon. There were even ficus trees with white lights. We had catered barbecue and everyone visited and laughed. There were a lot of tearful toasts. Michelle could barely get through hers, she was sobbing so hard. It was very touching.

That night, Todd went out with his friends and his mom gave Brianna and me her room at the St. Anthony. It was great to spend that time with her and the family that night and then again the next morning for breakfast.

The wedding day was crazy. I was incredibly emotional...I cried off and on all day. It was just made worse by the fact that Todd and I couldn't talk to each other. I managed to lose my wedding band and had a mild breakdown until I realized there was nothing I could do about it. I figured I'd just get married with my engagement ring.

Brianna, mom, and I got our hair done. My hair came out PERFECT. I joked that people on the street might mistake me for Carmen Electra. Ha!

Then it was off to the church to get ready. My girls were there, my flowers were BEAUTIFUL, friends and family would stop downstairs periodically to visit me. Todd sent a gift with someone to me. It was a beautiful necklace from Tiffany's. I cried and then had to retouch my eye makeup.

The ceremony was amazing. We wrote our own vows and Todd wrote vows to Brianna. Todd's dad did a wonderful job. He talked about watching his son fall in love with me and how happy the family is to have Bri and I. I've watched the video twice already. I don't think there was a dry eye in the house...

The reception was so perfect. The Bright Shawl did a great job of making things very romantic and candlelit. I didn't eat, but I hear the food was outstanding. We listened to toasts (again...very tear inducing) by his three groomsman and my dad and my aunt..

Then we danced to "The Weather" by Built to Spill.

Really we danced the night away. We had so much fun. The dance floor was always hoppin.

I can't think of anything I would have wanted done differently. It was a true celebration...

And ...I'm MARRIED!!!!!

I am the happiest girl on earth.

Part 2 about the honeymoon will follow...

Just a footnote: my wedding band was found before the ceremony and Todd's best man surprised me when he took it out of his pocket during the ceremony. I had no idea! Apparently, the look on my face was priceless.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host