10.01.02 � 6:54 pm

acl

Last weekend was the Austin trip for the man and I. We went to Ryan's Friday night and hung out for awhile. We were planning to leave for Austin around 10 on Sat morning, but I knew that wouldn't happen. Todd has a slight issue with punctuality. Just as expected, he called about 9:45 and said his foot was bothering him and he was going to head to the doctor. We didn't leave until close to 2. And by then we were so hungry we had to stop at Chic-fil-a and eat. Soooo...we got us a room in Austin. A "love nest" if you will. (I'm joking) Took the shuttle and got to the festival JUST in time to see Wilco. Then we saw David Garza. Daveed rules. It was breezy and nice and it was great to just chill outside and listen to the music and check out the people. After the show we went back to our "love nest" and showered and then met my friend Scott at Kerbey Lane for some grub. Jenna and Jenny had gone to the Trail of Dead show and were supposed to call afterwards and meet us at Club Deville. They never called, which was good because after we ate, we were so sleepy, we decided to go back to the room and "hang out". (Yes, that's code for something else) Sunday morning we had breakfast with my aunt and uncle and Jenna called and said she'd been calling 323-6023 all night long. Hint: that's ONE digit off from my actual cell number. We spent two hours milling around Waterloo and we both left with some super excellent music. We went back to the festival about 3 and layed our blanket out and just drank beer and rested. We were holding hands and just gazing up at the sky through all of Emmylou Harris. It was amazing.

The festival was amazingly well organized. Only Austin could pull an event off like that with no problems. In San Antonio, there would have been a billion fights and shitty beer. The shuttles were efficient and we never had to wait longer than two minutes to get on a bus. In fact, there was no waiting for anything anywhere. And there was 50,000 people there. AND they served one of my favorite beers. Amstel Light.

All in all, a great weekend. It was good for us to get away and be together all weekend. We laughed non-stop and talked and relaxed and it was just really really good.

And for those that were concerned for me and my lack of any action lately....

You can rest easy. I finally got some.

I've got a busy weeke ahead of me. My grandfather had surgery today and between him and school and work, I doubt I'll be updating much. But I'll be back when it quiets down.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host