01.02.03 � 7:32 am

all is quiet on new years day..

It's officially the second day of the year now and I can honestly say that I had the best New Years that I've had in many many years.

It was amazingly comforting to see Todd. I suppose two weeks to be apart is not a long time, but it felt like ages.

Anyway, we went downtown to the St. Anthony. Our room was beautiful. Four poster bed. Outstanding view of the city and Travis Park. After we settled in the room and he opened his Christmas presents, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant. Dinner was elegant and romantic. We had this great tomato salad that was sliced red and yellow tomatoes, red onions, and some kind of delicious cheese. It was all layered really beautifully and then drizzled with balsalmic vinegar. Mmmmm. I think just about anything could be delicious if it were drenched in balsalmic vinegar. Well, almost anything.

After dinner we "hung out" in the room and then went up to the Skylight Terrace (the roof of the 10th floor)to watch the fireworks. The roof was filled with crazy drunk people, and there we were in the corner, oblivious to everyone except each other. Yeah, I know. Gross.

After the fireworks, we went to the bar and had a couple drinks and then went back to the room. I had just enough vodka to make me sleepy, so I fell asleep and Todd drew and watched tv and managed to polish off the bottle of wine I brought. I woke up off and on. Every once in awhile, he'd crawl into bed and give me a hug or whatever. About 3, I woke up and he was still awake and we stayed up until 6:30 talking. We had one of those conversations you have that when it starts you have no idea how intense it is going to be but the next thing you know you're deciding the course of your relationship. There were some tricky moments. Tears shed. (why do we always do that when we drink)He told me that he's never loved anyone the way he loves me. He told me that he can't imagine ever being away from me. He said I am the most important person in his life. He was drunk, I know. But still, it was nice to hear.

Yesterday we just went out to eat and then came back here, positioned ourselves on the sofa and took a 4 hour nap. (All while I love the 80's was on VH1)

So yeah, a stellar New Years for me. I'm happy, I think. This year shows promise.

On the down side, I jacked up my back and it hurts very much. I'm walking like a gimpy old lady.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host