05.31.03 � 11:19 am

day two

Okay, I have some tips for anyone travelling out to the beautiful Northwest.

1. It's freakin cold. Bring a shitload of sweaters. (when I just typed 'shitload', I accidentally typed 'shitloaf' which made me laugh).

2. People here are REALLY friendly. Like Texas friendly.

3. Remember that you don't know HALF what these people know about music.

4. Learn to love coffee. It's everywhere.

5. Wear comfortable shoes. It's like damn San Francisco with its hills and shit.

6. You MUST go to the Experience Music Project. It's like Mecca.

7. You can drink the tap water. It's better than most bottled waters.

8. The Space Needle is HIGHLY overrated.

If I think of any more, I'll keep you posted.

So we walked down to the monorail and took the monorail to the EMP. (to you laymen, that's Experience Music Project). Let me tell you, that place is amazing. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. In the disco room, we learned how to be a dj. They have interactive exhibits and we got to play with the turntables and learn how to match beats and fade songs into one another. It was so fun. Then we got to go into sound booths and practice vocals and keyboards. I think I have real talent. I could be in a band. A band that might appeal to the tone deaf.

Todd napped after that and I went down to the bar and read the paper and had some beverages. I had this really excellent drink that the bartender made up (or at least he said he did) It was Campari and grapefruit juice with a splash of soda and lime)

About 7:30, Todd's friend Joel and his wife Luciana picked us up and drove us around the city and then we went for Indian food. It felt somewhat special to meet someone so important to Todd. None of his friends live in Texas and so Joel is the first friend I've met. I know it's a big step for him. Even more so than my meeting his family, I think. And they liked me. Todd told me later that when I left the table, Luciana told him how much they liked me and asked him when we are getting married. Yikes. Anyway, after dinner we went to Tost, which is a martini bar. They had a dj spinning Indian dance music. It was fun. We had drinks and talked. Joel is a pediatrician and Luciana is a marine biologist so they are extremely interesting. We had great conversation.

Today is my birthday. I'm 29. I'm a little angry at Todd for not getting me jack shit for my birthday. But...I'll handle it when we get home. I honestly believe that he doesn't know any better. Which is okay. But he needs to learn how it is supposed to be in a relationship. Ugh. I don't want to spoil this entry with bad feelings. I'll write more about this when I'm home and not trying to enjoy a vacation.

So, where are we now? Todd is sleeping and Joel and Luciana are picking us up in an hour to go to the Pike Place Market. We're going to have breakfast and then play it by ear. Tonite is Built to Spill and I. Can't. Wait.

And also, I don't think I mentioned this yesterday, but this hotel has Aveda bath amenities. HOT DAMN! I've already stolen off the housekeeping cart.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host