07.20.03 � 10:03 pm

my new favorite song

I was waiting for a cross-town in the

london underground when it struck me

that i've been waiting since birth to find a

love that would look and sound like a movie

so i changed my plans i rented a camera and

a van and then i called you

"i need you to pretend that we are in love

again." and you agreed to

i want so badly to believe that "there is truth,

that love is real"

and i want life in every word to the extent

that it's absurd

i greased the lens and framed the shot using

a friend as my stand-in

the script it called for rain but it was clear

that day so we faked it

the marker snapped and i yelled "quiet on

the set" and then called "action!"

and i kissed you in a style clark gable would

have admired (i thought it classic)

i want so badly to believe that "there is truth,

that love is real"

and i want life in every word to the extent

that it's absurd

i know you're wise beyond your years, but

do you ever get the fear

that your perfect verse is just a lie you tell yourself to help you get by

---------------------------------------

I must thank James for The Postal Service recommendation. I find sometimes that it takes me a few listens to really decide that I love a cd. I bought The Postal Service cd in Seattle and had listened to it a couple times, but it's been sitting in my car untouched for weeks. For some reason, I put it in this weekend and realized how amazing it is. I love lil Ben Gibbard. ANd Postal Service is like Death Cab meets New Order.

Built to Spill will be here in October and I'm planning to see them in Austin and Dallas.

So yeah...things have gotten back to normal since the vacation from hell. I got my car fixed. $435 and I have a new radiator. I'm thrilled to not be driving the tenement anymore. Brianna was with Chris this weekend so Todd stayed here. Friday night we went to see "Capturing the Friedmans".It was surprisingly good. Disturbing at times. But a very moving story. I'd recommend it. We ate dinner at California Pizza Kitchen and watched a fight break out among all the little high school kids that were hanging out in front of the Gap. We went to the McNay Saturday to see the art and ended up watching a wedding that was taking place on the grounds there. Theres been a lot of little hints dropped about a possible marital future for Todd and I. This weekend he casually started talking about rings and what kind I like and where could he find estate jewelry. He told me he'd been designing rings. Hmmm...sounds good to me. I want a proposal so badly, it's killing me.

previous - next

oldnewemailnotes bookjuicy! host